ReefCleaners.org

beginner corals

aussiedogs

I just started a JBJ 30 gal rimless reef tank with an SK-45 skimmer, Pacifica 108W led light, and ocean pulse wave maker. I am using RO water and instant ocean salt, I am not a beginner to salt water. I have a 90 gal fish only tank running also.

I just got it cycling today and I was wondering what would be some good beginner corals. I have been reading things online and dont know what to make of it. I would guess with a small tank you would want slow growing corals and also would I need a power head or would i have enough flow with the wave maker since the tank comes with 2 pumps already. Also how many seconds would you set the wave maker on?

Thanks

Can't help with thewavemaker, but as for corals look at live aquaria.com. Not necessarily their beginners section, but click through all of their different types. They are listed as their care level and live aquaria is pretty accurate. I would suggest zoas, mushrooms, leathers, acans, favias, and if you want sps, birds nests and montis to start.

And welcome to nanoreef. :)

Set wavemaker to like 30 seconds and then get an mp-10, jebao powerhead or even a koralia nano for extra flow

12_egg_Omelette

I would suggest staying away from leathers as their defense is chemical warfare compared to sweepers. How on top of your parameters are you going to be. Keeping a mixed reef is not the easiest thing to do as one usually thrives at the others expense. I'm assuming you'll want to start off with LPS.

Have you found a couple pictures of people's tanks you like. People seem to usually be driven to certain types of corals. I would stay away from Acroporas and NPS. Acroporas SPS are just fast reactors to subtle changes. I just had an $80 frag crap out on me overnight. NPS army as sensitive in that sense. But sun corals for instance need to have every mouth fed.