Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

14 Gallon Bio-Cube need help, I am a Complete NOOB

SarasotaNanoReefGuy941

SarasotaNanoReefGuy941

Hello to everyone in the community, I just recently purchased a 14 Gallon Bio-Cube off a friend for a deal that was to good to pass up, it was sitting a while in a barn and needs a little cleaning, which I dont mind getting dirty, my question is I want to go rimless and am going to build my own DYI L.E.D Light, my question is what type L.E.D'S do I need? how many? and what sequence do I put the on my setup? I have been looking at these: http://www.hero-ledstore.com/heroled-3w-led-c-2_174.html?zenid=7433lfl0pig0ukuvl08ma38360

any input would be extremely helpful

I will definitely have more questions in the future due to the fact I am not setting it up till I have everything I need, I want it to be perfect and learn as I go so any advice for a noob on all questions would be helpful!

Thank you in advance!!

Not sure if Dave @ NanoBox still sells his led arrays separate but you could just get one of his arrays and put it together your self in your own housing. Or just get one of his small retrofits that are designed to bolt right up to a BioCube. I have one on my 15g and I couldn't be happier. You will be able to keep any coral you want under them and the color is perfect. And paired with a bluefish mini controller it is the perfect setup IMO.

look under the "lighting" board on this forum in the sticky's there's a 3 threads that will answer all your questions.

You can look up Dave's LED set ups, Steve T's LEDS, Rapid LEDS and that is all I can remember right now. People either go Cree, Luxeon or a combo of both. Some have even gone to Ebay and bought a cheap LED fixture from China with great success. There is tons of info on here about these.

Good luck with whichever build you decide to go with.

SarasotaNanoReefGuy941

Thank all of you guys so much I have alot to learn and figured I would ask here first