ReefCleaners.org

Tkpico's 3g reef

Tkpico

Hello everyone!

I am new to saltwater aquariums and most of what I have learned has come from other tank threads to find out what works and what does not. I have been lurking on these forums for about 6 months now and figured I would make a thread to keep a sort of timeline for my reef.

Everything I read online told me that the smaller the tank the more difficult it is to manage because small changes have big effects in tanks like these and that it is not something a beginner should attempt but I am up for the challenge. I will be starting out with cheaper hardy corals and slowly progress to more challenging ones as the tank ages and as I grow as an aquarist.

I am also creating this thread in search of constructive criticism and advice along the way. I am very new at this still and I have a lot to learn. On to specs and pics...

Current Equipment
Tank: JBJ 3g picotope
Filter: Modded AC70
Powerhead: Rio 50

Tank Light: Wave-point 8watt super blue /10k led Clamp light
Fuge Light: 5w LED (4red 1 blue)

Heater: Hydor 25 watt

Bio

5 pound of live rock

2-3 pounds of live sand

Filter Floss

Chemi Pure Elite

Chaeto

Current Inhabitants

Zoanthid's (2 flavors)

Green Star Polyps

Ricordea Florida

Acan Lord

Xenia

Blue trumpet coral

Candy cane

Astrea Snail

The First Week

Stock Picotope setup day 1 (3/9/15)

2j46iaa.jpg

Decided to fill out the tank a little more by adding a small piece of rock in the front, my plan was to put a GSP there so that when it starts spreading I can easily contain it.

ofy9i0.jpg

No idea what I wanted to do with the Rio at the time

2q0rnf4.jpg

Day 7 saw my first hitch hiker, an Asterina star

8yi3cn.jpg

Month 1

On day 24 I still had not experienced any spikes in my parameters so I decided to throw in some bumble bee snails to test the waters.

xliio2.jpg

On day 30 I decided to make some changes and slap on an AC70 and throw in some chaeto and Chemi Pure Elite.

11r4pl2.jpg