SaltCritters.com

Draco's Dwarf Seahorse Journal

Draco

I am in the planning stages of owning a pair of Dwarf Seahorses. It's going to be a while before I actually get a pair. There will be no other life, aside from CUC in the tank.

I am starting a log of sorts. hope it's the right place? I want to make sure I don't make any mistakes! After reading the sticky and care sheet posted within the article, I feel comfortable. Except for the food making.. that makes me a little nervous as I am new to that, lol. I am sure I will get the hang of it quickly!

I am a bit confused on what's the best size tank to get for dwarfs. Some say 3-5 gals, others say 10+ gal. I was looking at Petco's cube with the chambers in the back, which is 3.7 gallons.. anyone think that's too small? I am thinking a cube with chambers would be best as its less flow and has more vertical swimming room. Or should I forget the chambers and put in a sponge filter or two?

Would planted macro's do OK in bare bottoms? I am thinking of doing mainly macro/planted type of tank as I don't want it to look like a reef tank. If I need sand, I would go dark to pop the horses out a bit more.

I am not sure what macros to get yet.. there's so many to choose from! If anyone has suggestions on what would the horses like best, please do share!

I look forward to any advice you guys have to share!

From what I understand about seahorses is that the dwarf species are hardier I believe. I think maybe 5 gallon might be better? Probably sumped for more of a water column and better filtration. The fluval spec would be a good seahorse tank IMO. I have one that I am going to drill and put a wartskin angler in.

I am in the planning stages of owning a pair of Dwarf Seahorses. It's going to be a while before I actually get a pair. There will be no other life, aside from CUC in the tank.