Pod Your Reef

What came with my chaeto?

dandelion

I am new to the hobby. I went to my LFS to get some chaeto for my hang-on-back refugium today. I noticed some pods and a bristle worm, but I cannot identify these guys. Can someone identify these? Thanks!

post-87945-0-76059800-1432260558_thumb.jpg

post-87945-0-82883000-1432260568_thumb.jpg

Yea it seems like they moved a little bit. I didn't put them into my system yet but I'm not yee if I missed any when I put in the bulk of the chaeto ball.

Looks like aiptasia. Avoid putting them in the tank. They're invasive anemones that you don't want. If they start establishing in the tank use a syringe with lemon juice or joes juice to kill them

Does look like an aiptasia, there are two particularly disliked species of them in aquariums, Aiptasia Pallida, and aiptasia pulchella, in my experience pallida is usually slightly less invasive for me, and pulchella likes to move around more. Yours looks like either pulchella or a less common but less invasive species. I'd say don't let them get in your main tank. They are perfectly fine on their own in their own tanks, but their stings are irritating to quite a few corals.

Yea I let it sit for a while and noticed one of them anchored itself to the bottom of my Tupperware. Pretty sure it is aiptasia. I am glad I asked before deciding what to do! For a second I thought about putting them into my tank.

I just hope I didn't miss any when I put in the chaeto. If I did I surely hope they're anchored well in the chaeto ball and never get flushed out into my tank.

Thanks everybody for the fast replies!

There could still be some very tiny aiptasias in that chaeto. I would take that chaeto back to the store and get some clean chaeto somewhere else.

DurocShark

There could still be some very tiny aiptasias in that chaeto. I would take that chaeto back to the store and get some clean chaeto somewhere else.

This.