Innovative Marine Aquariums

Newbie to saltwater and a few questions on setup

whiteblaze11

whiteblaze11

So im a newbie to the whole saltwater but have kept numerous freshwater and dart frogs and have a few questions on my setup I'm planning

Im using a 12x12x12 rimless acrylic cube and planning on building a custom glass lid for it.

my questions are:

1. Is a Zoo med canister 501 nano filter good enough for saltwater or should I use an aqua clear?

2. Im using a left over Ehiem Led 7 watt white fixture and plan on adding the blue fixture too so i can grow corals, is this enough?

3. Will a Hydro Koralia nano circulation pump be too strong?

4. I am planning on using my 25w Cobalt Neo-Therm heater, will this be sufficient enough?

5. Since I'm only planning on stocking it with some soft corals and mushrooms what else could i add? Was thinking a pistol shrimp and goby pair?

I attached a picture of the light fixture also

Any feedback will be appreciated!

Thanks!

post-52180-0-89040200-1432084878.jpg

1. Is a Zoo med canister 501 nano filter good enough for saltwater or should I use an aqua clear?

Either way; although most people feel that HOB power filters are easier to maintain than canister filters.

2. Im using a left over Ehiem Led 7 watt white fixture and plan on adding the blue fixture too so i can grow corals, is this enough?

Any specs on the bulbs (like the number of LEDs, their color spectrum, and optics)?

3. Will a Hydro Koralia nano circulation pump be too strong?

That's a 7.5 gallon tank. A 240gph powerhead would provide 32 times turnover. While that's not too much by itself, when added to the flow provided by the filter, it might be. The flow from just an AquaClear 50 (@ 200gph) would provide 27 times turnover (which should be good).

4. I am planning on using my 25w Cobalt Neo-Therm heater, will this be sufficient enough?

It might work, but I'd probably use a 50W heater.