inTank Media Baskets

long time reader first time poster, with some questions

andrewts

Hello NR world. I'm pretty new to the world of saltwater, and I know I started with a lot of "expert" choices. (Some of my confidence here comes from my success with my 55g planted tank {including crabs, frogs, rams, etc.}, my dwarf African cichlid tank {Tanganyikan, which has an SG of about 1.10 in a 29g biocube}. However, overall I've been relatively successful. A little bit earlier today, I had an ammonia spike which is still going on. I know my tank has cycled completely, by testing the filtration capacity instead of just watching the readings drop. I'd really like to figure out how to get past this hurdle without losing my beloved inhabitants.

So I've got a Fluval Spec V with:

-InTank media basket running filter floss, nitrate removing pad, phosphate removing pad, poly-filter, chemi-pure elite phosphate, and fluval bio nodes.

-Fluval CP3 HOB with all the medias removed and replaced with chaeto in the main section, refugium light on the macro, and nodes in the trickle chamber.

-stock pump on the filter chamber

-Hydor Pico 70 as the circulator pump

-Hydor 50 as the heater

-Kessil 150 sky blue as the day light, and stock light for moon light

Inhabitants include:

Florida fighting conch

pom pom crab who arrived without nems

Kenya tree

devil's hand leather

zoas

grogorian

silver xenia

white xenia

mandarin dragonet

dwarf pink feather duster

orange tree sponge

two turbo snails

a few nassarius snails

a shaving brush and some dragon's breath