Pod Your Reef

Strange holes in corals?

HM3105

Hey all,

So a few weeks back my war coral had what I thought was some detritus stuck to it but when I grabbed my turkey baster and sucked it our it turned out to be a hole in the flesh of the coral. At the time I thought it was a one off event. shortly thereafter, small section of the coral vanished overnight and the wound looked the same. It was like a pile of detritus was stuck to the coral that I now realize was its flesh.

So this evening, as I was doing my weekly WC, I noticed two more of these random holes in two of my chalices. Exact same scenario, grabbed turkey baster, sucked away gunk, nothing but skeleton underneath. I took some pictures but I'm still learning to use this camera so please forgive they aren't great.

17006510148_1d1f897f2e.jpgHole in coral by mike.vend

17192593992_bcaf7e7344.jpgHole in coral 2 by mike.vend

17194233115_0ef65bdcda.jpghole in coral 3 by mike.vend

So anyone seen something like this before? I've been keeping a close eye on my tank at night as something has also been picking off my zoas but I haven't seen any predators. The only things I've seen are amphipods, some pretty large with a brown coloration. I'm trying not to jump to conclusions that it's the amphipods but I'm running out of ideas.

I had amphipods eat my fresh new Aquascaper zoas so I think it's very possible if they're hungry. And yours corals look to be all healthy, as mine were as some postulated they would only eat decaying or sick corals.