Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Arson's Fluval Spec V

Arson

Hi everyone!

I registered for nano-reef.com a loooooong time ago, but never did get into it until now. I'm new to saltwater and reef aquariums, but a very experienced freshwater aquarist. I decided to dip my feet into keeping a nano reef and settled on the Fluval Spec V. I've had my aquarium now for a little over a month and have begun to have some questions, so I thought I'd share what I have and get going.

Thanks for looking!

Display: Fluval Spec V
Lighting: Current USA Orbit Marine LED 18-24in
Filtration: Stock basket with filter floss, Purigen, carbon

Heater: Cobalt NeoTherm 25W
Circulation: Stock filter (Minijet 606s all gone :( ) with Hydor 240 powerhead

Fish:

• Clown Goby RIP 04/14/15

Corals:

• Green Star Polyp (which is not doing well at all)
  • Zoa colony (recovering from the SG crisis, hopefully)

Invertebrates:

• Scarlet Reef Hermit
  • Pom Pom Crab RIP 04/14/15
  • Snails: Ceriths, Dwarf Ceriths, Nassarius, Nerites
  • Sea Scallop (apparently!)
  • Emerald Crab

Wishlist

• InTank Media Basket w/Skimmer
  • Goby/pistol shrimp bromance
  • ATO

Current FTS (04/14/15)

16665434033_8642f7ba66_c.jpgFTS 04/27/15 by jeztor, on Flickr

Beginning FTS (02/28/15)

16923499159_294d6feff1_c.jpg

My plans for this aquarium are pretty open, though I already know I will probably add a pistol shrimp very soon. I'm pretty terrible at aquascaping since this is something I'm new at, so I feel there is much to be desired there.

Any input is much appreciated, thank you.

cmccorkle2005

I was the same way - I kept freshwater tanks for years but just started dabbling in salt tanks for or 5 years ago and then took a break. The tank is looking good!