Innovative Marine Aquariums

Matching Newly Mixed SW to Tank

LebaneseDlight

LebaneseDlight

My Dkh stays consistently at 7.0 and my PH between 8.0-8.2 in the display. These always test the same (I test at night, same time). Today, I tested my newly mixed SW (same SW I've been using since tank setup 3 months ago, Brightwell NeoMarine). It was Ph 8.4 and DkH 9.0. Perhaps I need to let it age longer (two hours so far) in order for the Ph to stabilize. But DkH won't change during aging, right? My question is, should I increase my display water gradually, or should I somehow lower newly mixed SW, or should I get a different salt?

I'm afraid to do a water change now, I don't want to piss off my SPS frags :/

I don't currently dose, just weekly 20% WC, but I purchased a two part and magnesium (waiting on my Mg and Ca tests to come in before dosing anything).

Why did I delve into this crazy world of SPS? So skirry!

Marc.The.Shark

At 20% WC, you're only gonna drive up Alk by at most .5, so around 7.5. pH increase will be negligible as well, I wouldn't worry about it, it'll b fine. What you want to do is figure out how much you're corals are using daily by testing when you get the kits & then dose up daily to around what you're salt mix is. 7 is about as low as you want it to get. 9 is a good target, as your salt mixes to.

LebaneseDlight

I did think that if I'm not dosing, then my new SW should have higher DkH and Ca. How else would I be replenishing my elements, right? But what I've been reading is for SPS, the new water should be as close to the params of the display water. But I do of course understand that 9x.2 + 7x.8 = 7.4. I guess if I kept my DkH at 9.0 then my new water would be a match, and it seems like 9.0 DhK is a good number to strive for.

Marc.The.Shark