Coral Vue Hydros

Mistake?

OpFor

Hi. I am new to the saltwater keeping. Im already hooked bad! There a local shop here that is notorious for not keeping proper care of any critter that comes through its doors. I was there because they had some small rubble peices I can use for my frags. I saw this Fuzzy Dwarf Lionfish. I rescued him. . .hes now in my 30gal. tank. Ive had him for two days now, and hes still not eating anything. I want him well fed so he won't eat my other fish in there. . .did I just make a tragic mistake?

I can almost guarantee he will eat anything his own size. Most other nano sized fish will not be able to live with him. Cool fish though!! I would recommend making it a species only tank. Some people have luck keeping them with clowns etc. but its very risky. Try feeding him live feeder minnows or frozen silversides. Also you can try soaking his food in garlic extract by Kent, as that can stimulate their appetite. It is not a mistake if you can get him eating and he is the only one in that tank. Those fish have tons of personality and are very beautiful. They are reef safe, just not shrimp and small fish safe lol