Cultivated Reef

Coral Choices

Waterhobit

Ok, so my ammonia and nitrite are at .2 and falling, and if my parameters reach 0, I would like to get some corals this weekend for my new tank. I am completely new to reef keeping but I do have a protein skimmer as I understand it can be beneficial when keeping aggressive and semi-aggressive corals. Anyway I have been looking at corals at my LFS's and think I have a few picked out that I would like to have. But I would like input regarding things like sensitivity, feeding needs, placement, evasiveness, etc...

Mushrooms

Duncans

Acans

Yellow Pollyps

Finger Leather

Candy Cane

Lettuce Coral

I was told the Lettuce coral is easy to keep but requires high flow, but I seem to see conflicting information here online. My LFS has a gorgeous frag though.

I'm also new to reef keeping but my lfs gave me some free corals to try Kenya tree , duncan , green star polyps , and three different zoas. So far everything is taking off

I don't know if I'm picky or if I just know what I like, but I'm not into zoas or GSP. And I'm a little on the fence over Kenya tree's too. But it is good to know the duncan is taking off in your tank.

All those corals can go in the same tank, depending on how big the tank is. If I am not mistaken, none of them really extends too far, so yeah.

Just make sure you do test your filtrative capacity before getting the coral though. Ammonia and nitrite falling is good, but it also depends on whether or not that means you have plenty of microbes to handle the eventual bioload yet, or otherwise.