Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Thinking of trying red sea coral pro salt. Decision made: yes! with results

reefernanoman

reefernanoman

I went to buy some frags from a buddy of mine and his corals look amazing. He told me that he used to use Kent marine like me and that the red sea salt has worked for him much better. Another person in his house agreed, since he is using it too. Would it really matter in my 28G and 10g tanks? They have big tanks. This salt is twice the price of KM. MY corals have been doing pretty well on KM after 3 months. Should I try to see if it makes a difference? Thanks.

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey bud. For what its worth, i've used the Red Sea since I started my tank, and my coral are all thriving. I've got nothing to compare it to, but I definitely will be buying it again when I need to....

I am just starting out and the folks at my LFS (Aquatica Aquarium Gallery) recommended Red Seal Coral Pro. They sell and stock all of the major brands (several were more expensive) and they still recommended the Red Sea. I actually went in to buy Salinity and they talked me out of it.

reefernanoman

Thanks for your replies! I can buy the 50G salt mix for KM locally for like $17. I can get the bucket of RS for 55 gallons for $33 on Amazon. That's a big price difference. So do you need 1/2 a cup per one gallon on the RS to make 1.025 specific gravity? or do you need more?

I use 2 cups per week, so I don't know if the salt in a bucket would get too hard? The KM jug works great for me at keeping the salt soft. The KM looks just like sugar.

I paid $55.00 for my 175 gallon bucket of the Red Sea. I will be mixing my first batch to fill my tank tonight; I will let you know how things go. Aquatica (LFS) said that they liked the red sea because it mixes to the specs on the side of the bucket every time.