Pod Your Reef

Help Needed - Stocking a 20 Long

VW_TDI_02

I have a 20 long display tank and a 20 long sump and was looking for some help with which fish to add but I'm new to the hobby and I'm not exactly sure what I can and can't do. Any help would be highly appreciated.

Equipment

20 Long Display

20 Long Sump

PF300 Overflow Box

SCA-301 Skimmer

Current Orbit Marine

Jebao RW-4

1" Sandbed

Livestock

2 Black/White Percula Clownfish

2 Acans

1 Ricordia Mushroom

Zoanthids

1 Hammer Coral

Possible Livestock

Cleaner Shrimp - Probably the next thing I buy

Canary Blenny

Black Combtooth Blenny

Forktail Blenny

Tail Spot Blenny (kinda meh about)

Banggai Cardinal (Can I keep just two of these??)

Yellowstriped Cardinalfish

Pajama Cardinalfish

Flame Cardinal

Royal Gramma

Black Cap Basslet

Blue/Green Chromis (Do I need a school for these? If so, would I have room?)

Lemon Chromis (Same as Blue/Green Chromis. Do I need a school and do I have room?)

Bicolor Dottyback

Blue Eye Royal Dottyback

Purple Dottyback

Purplestripe Dottyback

Splended Dottyback

Yellow Dottyback

Yellow Clown Goby

Fish I Don't Want

Anything that jumps

- Tanaka's Pygmy Wrasse (want but don't want a lid)

- White Banded Possum Wrasse (want but don't want a lid)

- Yellow Banded Possum Wrasse (want but don't want a lid)

- Fire fish (not really a fan)

Stay away from the dottybacks if you don't want to risk tank bullies ;)
Two banggai cardinals is what I would go for in a 20G. :)
The Chromis schools have a tendency to dwindle down to only the strongest individual. Some people keep larger schools for long periods, but that is usually in larger tanks. Chromis will thrive alone :) Just consider the fact that they are next to impossible to catch, if you ever want to remove them from the tank, lol :lol:

Good luck with the choice, dude! :)