Innovative Marine Aquariums

Free Nano Build Thread

JBinFla

A little background on this build.

Back in December Nano-Reef.com member joeyhatch11 posted a thread titled FREE NANO TANK!. I was (am) a complete noobie at this but figured what the heck and entered. A couple weeks went by and I was in the middle of a bad day and when I got home I checked my email. WHAT? I won? Yep, as luck would have it I did win... Sooo... After building a nice 12" glass cube for me, joeyhatch11 sent it via 2-day delivery and here is what it looked like after unpacking:

Full shot:
16289638605_fd121d9246_b.jpg

Corner detail:
16103501919_2696679187_b.jpg

So since I got a free tank, looks like I need to hop on Amazon and pick up a few items. First was a filter. After receiving it and seeing the size, I do kind of wish I'd have gone much smaller. It is at least 6" wide and takes up most of one side of the aquarium. I've seen much smaller filters, and since I'll be light on fish I am thinking I don't need major filtration. I may end up buying a small canister filter, but in any even, it is now running with the API SuperCLean Power 5-20gal power filter.

Pic showing ceramic bio-ball type elements. I'm going to use it "as-is", at least at the start. I did buy some nitrate removing filter pads ($9/ea?!?!?!) for this thing.
16270536916_1c563a4069_b.jpg

It only held 5-gallons of water when I filled it up after rock/sand. So maybe this LED will be just right at 16-watts. It's a Wave-point 12-inch Super Blue and Daylight micro LED fixture. It fits the tank nicely but leaves little room on the side it's mounted for anything else (again, I'm thinking a small canister filter may be just right as intake and output pipes could fit just fine on the side of the light)
16295621912_ee8c650039_b.jpg

And here's the whole thing before any water went in it:
16110618097_08fff1926e_b.jpg