Coral Vue Hydros

Lime LED's are dubious

NanoFox

I've been reading about the recent addition of LIME led's fromplaces like Steve's such as here:

http://www.nano-reef.com/topic/346477-luxeon-rebel-es-lime-pics-and-par/

I'm in no way putting down the work done, but the "aesthetic" considerations without real spectra always leaving me wanting more. I'm a scientist and not an artist, so that might have something to do with it.

It seems that the usual mix is ~3 limes to 2x4000K +1x2700K... the color temp of the whites is a mix of 2 phosphors, so this mix is really just 3x ANSI 3500K. I wanted to see the spectrum of this "composite white".

I took the emission spectra from Luxeon for Royal Blue, Lime, NW (3500K) and CW (5000K) leds, and digitized them, then played with mixing in EXCEL. When I compare the standard 1:1 Lime+3500K versus the bog standard CW I get the following spectra. (I added RB to the composite since people also use more RB with these designs).

Notice that 1xNW + 1xLime+ 2xRB gives you almost exactly the same (normalized) output as a standard 5000K CW. I wont argue that having separate channels adds value - more control is always nice, it's just that all these "aesthetics" arguments seem to me to be mostly navel gazing.

In terms of precision control of CRI, the correct decision is probably to put Lime + 2700K on separate channels as "white", so you can tune the effective color temp of the white channel, then balance against RB/CB for color temp. But this is no real (spectral) improvement over just picking the color temp of the whites to suit your tastes to begin with and keeping it simple. It seems to me that most folks are just defaulting back to ~4700K for the white channel.