Cultivated Reef

Simple tank for a science project

Capnella

Hi All,

I'm a beginner thinking about setting up a tank with an unusual premise:

I'm doing a science project on Capnella sp. (kenya tree coral) and want to set up an environment in which these corals thrive. I do not care about aesthetics. I want my tank to be as simple/cheap as possible while still encouraging Capnella to grow.

Luckily, I've learned that Capnella is a hardy animal and can survive under a decently wide set of conditions, so I'm hoping to be able to get away with a simple setup. I'm thinking of getting a 3 to 5 gallon tank (many of these come with pumps/filters), medium light, live aragonite sand, a bit of live rock, heater and all the chemistry test kits of course. I already have a reverse osmosis system.

The main thing I'm wondering is: what else do I need in there to have a stable ecosystem. Is just the coral and the bacteria in the sand/rocks enough to make a full food web or do i need other animals in there?

Capnella apparently get some of their energy from photosynthesis and some from filter feeding, so I should probably supplement with some phytoplankton every so often. Is the dried stuff o.k. or should I get live plankton from a fish store or something?

If there's anything else that you think I absolutely need, or if there are things that you think I could skip given that I'm growing a pretty robust coral and do not care for aesthetics, let me know.

Thanks!!

P.S.: I'm trained as a chemist so no need to explain the basics of nitrogen, phosphate, metal ions, deionized water, specific gravity etc.

Perhaps a clean up crew would be good as well. Some small hermit crabs and some snails. Really the only of livestock you need.

Also you can't go wrong with one of those all-in-one marine tanks. Just don't get a cheap all-in-one freshwater tank at Petco or something!

And a powerhead for water flow...