Cultivated Reef

Hello! I would like to share my first journey in reefing. (BioCube 14)

ConnorKessler

ConnorKessler

Hi all, I'm a newbie to reefing and this is my first time making an account and posting to a nano-reefing forum so go easy on me.

I've had freshwater tanks for years, the largest being a 46 gallon bowfront. I have loved the hobby but over time freshwater became too easy for me and I wanted to venture into unknown territory- reefing.

What I have so far:

- Coralife Biocube 14 w/ biocube protein skimmer.

- 10lbs of live rock (in the process of getting more)

- 2 inch live sand/aragonite bed

- AquaticLife RO Buddie reverse osmosis system

- Aqueon 500 Circulation Pump

The Plan:

Because I am new I am by no means going to rush things and take in as much knowledge as I can as I go along. I did do plenty of research before beginning the hobby, but sometimes you actually need to get int the water to truly learn to swim, right?

I am looking to have this tank (down the line) be a small reef with some very basic, but pretty corals, a decent CUC and perhaps 2 clowns and a goby (one of my favorites).

Issues at Hand:

- TEMPERATURE! I am having a dickens of a time trying to keep water temps stable and within tolerable zones. At night it hovers at about 78 degrees, but during the day with the lights on it can climb up to 82 degrees, a 4 degree swing. No something I, or future livestock, want.

- Currently cycling the tank. Ammonia reads at just barely over 0ppm, Nitrate and Nitrite both read 0. (Tank has been cycling for two weeks now).

- Need more live rock. This will prolong the cycling, but I have all the time in the world. I simply don't have enough to "fill-out" the tank the way I want it.

Questions/Help Wanted: