inTank Media Baskets

Killer Hermit Crabs?

Wjcastiglione

Wjcastiglione

My buddy has a 29g bio cube - he has 4-6 hermit crabs inside of it, one large one named "clink" because the way he constantly does laps around the tank and clinks his shell against the glass constantly...

This thing is large.. I mean - I'm a newb to this SW scene - but it's bigger than any hermit I've ever seen in a LFS.

My buddy put in a turbo snail the other day - and it immediately attacked the turbo snail because he wanted his shell. My buddy seperated them two or three times - he woke up the next morning - and clink was inside of the turbo's shell - and eating the snail.

In addition - he added a brand new ruby red scooter blenny the other day - and one of the other hermits ate this lil guy!

Does anyone else have experiences like this? should he pull these bad boys out?!

Dwarf hermits are 100% safe - If they aren't the "dwarf" type of hermits, they can get very, very large and really shouldn't be in your reef (with a few exceptions). Just go to any boardwalk on the east or west coast and look at all the places selling hermit crabs - they can get to be the size of your fist, or bigger and live for years.

Dwarf blue legged, red legged, zebra, etc. hermits don't get bigger than an inch or so and while they will kill snails or other, smaller hermits, for their shells - they aren't going to kill a fish. I seriously, seriously doubt your friends hermit killed the fish - hermits WILL devour already-dead fish and corals and that is what gives them a bad repuation (they are opportunistic scavengers).

As for how strong they are, this is a 3 year old inch long hermit in a very large cerith - so much for how tough and dangerous they are to your reef life:

hermit_feast_side.jpg

CatfishSoupFTW

my hermit crabs sometimes kill each other for their shells. I added extra ones for them to swap, but if they like it - they like it.

Wjcastiglione