inTank Media Baskets

Interesting growths

StangGuy99

Ok here is the deal. This is my first attempt at saltwater and it has been great! i bought myself a 14 gallon bio cube and added a media box and protein skimmer for filtration. The tank has been running close to 3 months now. I had cyano bacteria in the very begining but i havnt had it for over 2 months now. Just recently i started adding corals and recenlty my brown algea has been popping up really bad. the tank went trhough its cycle period a long time ago and i havnt added any new stock recently. I also am noticing bright red orange, what looks like coraline algea, but it has white tendrals coming shooting off of it. I need help to figure out whats going on....

INFO

stock

-A pair of Ocelarious Clowns

-cleaner shrimp

-4 hermits

-4 snails

-serpant sea star

-tiny frag of green star polyp

-frag of zoas

-two tiny frags of xenias.

Water changes

-i do 2 gallon water changes every week on sundays and clean everything. scrub live rock, sift the sand everything. This may be my first time but i do everything by the book. RO water only.

-i also have both test kits for this tanks and all my levels are perfect so idk whats going on.

P.S. i did recently have a firefish disapear but i have had no proof of death.

What are your phosphate levels? And if a firefish died in the tank you may not see it but it could lead to an algae bloom since its putting a lot of extra nutrients into your tank.

Chronic- My phosphate levels show up as zero but that doesn't mean they are not present. The algea could be consuming it fast enough so my test doesn't show a positive level. and i did vacuum the sand just two days ago... should i do it again and with more water?

Thanks for the input!

Perhaps more CUC would help. I have twice the amount you do, but in a 5g. Dwarf Ceriths might help and the Nassarius Snails will help with the algae on the sand bed.

Deleted User 8