Top Shelf Aquatics

expert advice on bta

Fishsticks2187

Fishsticks2187

i am fairly new to reefing and and i need some help with my bubble tip anemone. i purchased a small bta from my LFS last Friday evening. It is a beautiful light neon green with vibrant redish orangeish tips the guy said it was from Indonesian. i brought it home and acclimated it and as soon as i put it in my tank it found a crevices in the rock and hasnt moved since. i left the lights off all night. then i started to add light slowly each day. i have a 16 gallon nuvo16 tank with no other fish just some snails/ hermits/ feather duster and 3 pieces of coral. every now the bta closes up (as i read in other forums this is normal) then will open for a few hours as the lights come on (its on a timer) and is fully open for about 2 hours. the color is perfect and the tips are bubbled and contracted and not stringy and the anemone as a whole if full and the mouth of it is tight closed. then its starts to deflate about midafter noon. and the mouth opens and a clear mucus ball is released (over the course of a few hours) the the anemone goes inside its self. then it will open its self back up and looks perfectly normal again until the lights go off at night. at this point i havent feed it yet. it does this everyday. so i thought maybe if i feed it then it would start to be more normal lol because i dont know how good about feeding the bta the LFS was. so i took some rinsed, thawed out frozen mysis and feed the nem. the tentacles accepted the pieces and they were sticky and then over the course of a few hours it would shrivel up and a then a ball of the mucus would come out of its mouth and in that ball would be packed tightly with mysis shrimp that i just feed it earlier. all of my parameters are good: ammonia-0, nitrite-0, nitrate-0, calcium- 380, alkalinity-9, ph-8.2 phosphate-0. temp ranges from 76 - 78. its a 16 gallon tank with a mp10 for water flow, and my light is a current orbit marine led light.