SaltCritters.com

Question about the Balling Method

Exquitas

Heyho,

So I've recently upgraded my Tank from 18G to 65G...

Now I want to start the Balling Method which is basically the same as Two/Three Part Dosing.

But I'm a little confused right now.

The three main ingredients of the Balling Method are:

- CaCl2 x 2H2O (for increasing Ca)

- MgCl2 x 6H2O (for increasing Mg)

- NaHCO3 (for increasing Alkalinity)

+several trace elements

From my experience (I'm a chemist ... yeah and sometimes I still need to ask *sigh*) Sodium (from the alkalinity) reacts with chloride (from Mg and Ca) to Sodiumchloide (NaCl) which basically remains in the water and is not used in any form.

They say that you'll have to do a 30% water change every week (which I do) but the question is, won't the NaCl start building up to the "point of no return"?

If I get this right you're adding 4 units of Cl and one unit of Na which would cause 3 units of Cl to remain as Ions in water (considering that the NaCl would fallout and not stay in it's dilluted form in your water column).

If I remove 30% of water every week there should remain 70% of NaCl in the water which would still lower the concentration of NaCl in the water but it would still build up until you change 100% of your water.

So is there a way how you remove the rest of the NaCl from the water or do the corals actually use the Cl and Na Ions for something?

I guess it's something simple that I've overseen here ...

Well, I'm not a chemist, so somebody slap me if I'm wrong, but the Na and Cl shouldn't be reacting in solution. In seawater, they're just free floating ions unless they precipitate out.