inTank Media Baskets

Help with rising nitrates- 40ppm, time to reboot?

le0p

Sorry this is a little long, want to give you the whole story...

I'm new to reefing but have been keeping planted tanks for years. My tank has been set up for 9 months now. For the first 7 months everything was going great, everything I put into the tank was growing like crazy, fish and inverts all doing well, then I had a disaster. My return pump literally caught on fire and I had to do an emergency change, it took awhile (most of a day) but I kept the pumps running in the display and put a powerhead in the sump.

At the time I didn't realize it but the ATO was damaged when the pump blew up. After everything was running again, the ATO dumped 3 or 4 gallons into the sump. I scrambled to get the water out and raised the salinity back up slowly.

Ever since then, it's been all down hill. Nitrates have been on the rise, I lost 3 or 4 coral but no fish or inverts. I had a major outbreak of red flat worms and every 4 or so days there's a carpet of diatoms on the sand. The flatworms have subsided but are still present and the algae continues to go nuts.

I change the water once a week with Reef Crystals, if things are looking really bad or I need to clean the sand bed, I'll do two changes a week. Each one 10 gallons with RO/DI (filters changed 2 months ago)

I realize i was over feeding for awhile, it hadn't been a problem before but it caught up to me. I've since cut way back on that and feed less frozen.

I've been checking nitrates every water change and they've been going up, I added a biopellet reactor after I started seeing 5ppm. I did two water changes this week and it's still at 40ppm.

So I'm looking for ideas on how to get this back under control. I am installing a new sump this weekend and moving the tank (I patched the old one and it's surprisingly held for this long), so I'm wondering if this is the time to tear it down completely and start over.

What do you all think?