inTank Media Baskets

I'm new to nano's and all my reef friends say stay away from them

Mechanic85

So this is my first reef tank and I've gone with a 15 gal collum, and all my reef buddies are telling me to stay away from small systems. Now I understand the concern of when things happen in a small system they happen really fast, but I see so many sucsessful nano's done I want to give it a shot.

So like I said I've gone with a 15 gal 13x13x20, I've got about 15-20 lbs of live rock and about the same in live sand. I've gone with a fluval sea nano led 24000k and 3 true luman 3w 12000k shimmer strips all on ramp timers for a 12 hr light spectrum at about 6 hrs of peak lighting, for water flow I've got 2 power heads and a aquaclear 70 refugium mod, I've also ran a bio cube nano skimmer in the fuge ( I know not many people like this skimmer but it seems to work well for the price), and of course a heater... It's been up for about 2 months, I do a 1 gal water change every Friday and test the water once a week as well as well as adding my supplements if needed.

So as far as livestock I'm trying to go slow so I started with a cuc of 4 margarite snails and 4 or 5 hermits, though I've lost a few do to others stealing their shells, even with plenty of extras in the tank, I have a misc poly, a green and orange zoa, a pair of mushrooms and last Friday added a tube worm.

I'll try to post some pics as well, any suggestions would be helpful

michaelrzachmann

dont listen to them... my tank is not nearly as nice as a lot of tanks on here but i enjoy the shit out of my tank. Its a lot more upkeep than my freshwater tank but it is nowhere near as difficult as i thought it would be (people told me the same thing and tried to warn me) with just some weekly maintinence like you said. good luck and welcome to the greatest addiction