inTank Media Baskets

What's the proper way to replace ro/di filters

Dramad1

Hello everyboooody. :).

I just did a search in the water chem section and could not find what I was looking for, need some advice.

So I'm changing my sediment, carbon and di cartridge's after testing my tds which is now showing .09ppm after di. This is my first time changing the cartridges in my unit which is a refurb 90gpd spectrapure unit. It has been 8 months since I started using my own ro/di unit and changing filters.

My question is about installing and flushing the sediment and carbon block cartridges seperate from the di and then flushing the di cartridge. I remember having to flush the di separate from the sediment and carbon block when I first set the unit up but can not recall the steps and I have lost the installation instructions which had the instructions on how the flush the cartridges.

If I remember correctly I flushed the sediment and carbon filter for aprox 30mins or 4 gal of ro water and leaving the di cartridge out of the system. Then I installed the di filter and flushed for another 20-30 mins and or 4 more gal of ro/di water.

What are the proper steps when replacing filters?

I will also be testing to see how my ro membrane is holding up before replacing filters. Plan to measure tds from tap, then tds after ro and before di, then calculate my rejection rate. If less than 90% should I replace? One last thing, I see that spectrapure has a new 99% rejection rated membrane and am curious if it will fit in my 90gpd refurbished unit (mpdi), anyone know. I ask because I'm unsure if the models varies from mpdi to cspdi, max cap etc... I did purchase upgraded filters from the 1 micron carbon block to the 0.5 and the new zz .2 sediment filter and the super di filter. Wondering when the time comes to replace the ro membrane if I can upgrade to the new 99% rejection rated membrane.