SaltCritters.com

New to Saltwater. So many qestions...

Waterhobit

So, I have been keeping freshwater aquariums for a couple of years now. I have a 2.6, 10, and 40. Recently I was looking at my 40 gallon long and it's stand, and realized that I have quite a bit of wasted space, in that I have about 4 inches of extra stand in front of and behind my aquarium. If I were to build a custom stand, I could make better use of that space and maybe find a way to squeeze in another aquarium. After looking for only a short period of time I ran across Scorched's thread here, http://www.nano-reef.com/topic/296235-3-foot-office-nano-mr-aqua-12-gallon-long/ and it occurred to me that this is the best its gonna get for that space without building a custom aquarium.

So, I have been tossing around some ideas and came up with the following solution. I can build a custom stand that would place my freshwater 40g long in the back of the stand and would allow a Mr. Aqua 12g long to sit in front of it stepped down 10 inches so that both tanks would be visible and accessible, and this would be an excellent time to introduce myself to the salty side of things, and try something different.

Here is a rough idea of what it would look like, using pics of my 40g and Scorched's 12g. (hope he doesn't mind)

post-85684-0-99779500-1410185972_thumb.jpg

I should be able to make a door in the right side of the cabinet that would allow me to access a sump under the larger tank in the back... and this is as far as I have gotten...

What do yall think of this layout?

Is it worth it to plan on using a larger sump like a 20 gallon instead of a 10g? I don't think sumps are usually larger than the show tank, but I imagine it would be beneficial.

Can someone explain to me the difference between a sump and refugium. I have heard both terms used, but I am not sure that I completely understand it all.

Are corals quarantined like fish, or just washed thoroughly like freshwater plants?