Pod Your Reef

HELP - Relocating 10g Nano-Reef

anizato

NOOOOOOOOOO!! :o

Two days ago, my landlady gave us a call saying she is selling the house I have been renting for two years. I have about 60 days to move out. :blink:

I only have the 10g display tank, and a bucket to transport the 2 Clown and 1 Yellow Tang in.

Where my mind gets lost omgomgomg is with how to move the whole thing. There won't be a cycled tank to place them in when they arrive to the new house.

My idea was to empty the tank with enough water to leave the sand, inverts and rock covered; place the fish in a bucket, have a new mix of water made (heat it upon arrival) and add the water to the tank.

This is where I totally get lost. :eek: Will the fish need to be acclimated or can they be placed directly in the system? If they need to be acclimated that means that the water in the bucket is "bad" so how long does the tank with the new water need to run before I add/acclimate+add the fish (just until the temp is correct) ?

ANY AND ALL :wizard: help :wizard: is very much appreciated! :scarry:

Go buy a couple of sealable 5G paint buckets for like $6 each. Put rocks in one bucket, fish and corals in the other with a heater and powerhead. Power them in the car ride with a DC-AC adapter. Drain tank to like .25" over the sand, leave sandbed as is for drive. Pick out all your snails and put them with fish/corals or in the rock bucket. Bag the corals, fill coral bucket to 3/4 and let fish swim. You can put a few rocks on the bottom if it's a long drive. Let the corals float at the top in bags.