Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Sk8n Reefer's Nuvo 16

Sk8n Reefer

Hey there Nano reefers I've been lurking for to long and it's time to join in the community. I've been keeping salt/reef tanks for 20+ years with moderate to good success and plenty of enjoyment . I got out of the hobby about 4 years ago due to the classic "vacation disaster" when my power went out and did not come back on for a few days in the winter. I think I just wore my wife out talking about a reef tank and she agreed we should set up a nano. Boom- it was on ! I decided on the clean look of the IM Nuvo 16. Here's the breakdown

Tank Specs

IM Nuvo 16

Lighting- 2 IM stock 14k 8watts each. AI nano w/ controller

Flow- upgraded to Sicce 1.5 (358gph) 2 IM spin streams

Heater- Aqueon 100watt

Media Reactor- IM mini max - run carbon ( regularly ) and GFO ( sparingly)

ATO- JBJ

Stand- Ikea

Water specs

Salinity- 1.024

Ph- 8.0- 8.2

Calcium- 400-420

Alkalinity- 7-8

Phos- .03-.05

Temp- 78

Nitrate-0

I decided to take a new approach (for me) to my livestock. I will only buy livestock from one store. I will use the same salt ( Kent) as them and also get my RO/DI water from them. To many times I have been caught up in that " beautiful " coral ( in a crappy looking tank) and purchased from any store I walk into- that has changed. It is quite liberating just going to one store for coral and fish. I am lucky here in Denver to be able to take this approach with a great store that is truly a partnership and have a great variety of SPS and other coral. They can frag from their own tanks and also from the many they maintain . I am making one exception to this rule- I will make one or two purchases from MACNA this year but that is the only " outside " source that will be added in. I think this approach has helped the early success of this tank and I plan on continuing with this practice.

Nuvo 16 3/20/14

imagejpg2_zpsd73188bd.jpg