Innovative Marine Aquariums

Feeding my new Clowns...

CoffeeNun

Hi.. just brought my new Clowns home today... my 12g Nano is huge compared to the pair tank they were in at the LFS. So I had my first attempt at feeding this afternoon. I put a half cube of mysis in the tank and it disappeared; not sure where it went but I'm pretty sure they didn't eat it. Then I gave them some Omega One pellets. which of course a bunch passed to the skimmer.. the female got some but I don't think the male did.... is it just a matter of repetition to where they will come to the front and surface when I feed??

Also a folllow-up... i left the sponges in the first chamber and now there's fish food on it - should I clean that out or will it be ok re chemical stability? Thanks... yeah, I'm a newb.

Every fish is different. Some will eat right away and others take a while. My clowns didn't start eating until after a week. Now they see me pick up the fish food and they bolt for the surface knowing that they are about to be fed.

Are these wild caught or tank bred? My clown was purchased at barely an inch, and was eating NLS pellets within a day. However, older clowns and wild-caught may take longer to acclimate.

I would give a week to try feeding. Many fish will refuse food for a while, and since fish don't waste energy heating their bodies they can go a while, so no need to worry just yet.

I recommend removing the uneaten food. You can also try additives like garlic and Selcon. Also, make sure the food is of an appropriate size. You may want to try teaching the male to target feed, in the broodstock tanks that I work on, the dominant female can sometimes eat all the food before the male gets some. Good luck!

Turn off the pumps and feed. Also replace the sponge with filter floss (pillow stuffing) that you can just throw away and replace. Cleaning the sponge is going to get old fast!