inTank Media Baskets

Hammer Stinging a Torch

wildbill79

Good evening,

This is my first post and I am new to corals. I started a biocube 14 for my son(he's 2, but loves fish and the ocean) 8 weeks ago. Everything is going great! Over the last 2 weeks I started adding a few corals. I have a ric, a zoa frag and a torch. Yesterday I added a hammer just to the sand to let him acclimate(about 4 inches from the torch) and he immediately inflated and looked really happy. I woke up this morning and it looks like half of one of the heads on the torch is melted! I was under the impression that the hammer would not hurt a torch. The hammer is really small and I didn't think the sweeper would reach that far. Anyone else have anything like this happen?

I have been stalking this forum for a while and finally had something to post about. Pretty psyched!

johnnyriker

I don't believe it stung it. They do reside in the same family Euphyllias and do not sting each other. I have frogspawn and hammers so close they are touching no issues for five months. The other thing is a torch is the most aggressive coral in your tank. It would not be killed by others. It's on the top of the food chain. I could see the hammer getting hurt if anything but I don't even believe that would happen.

JohnRiker

Hammer's and Frogspawn can be near each other. Torches can not be near either. I am surprised the hammer was the winner though but its perfectly possible.

The torch is downstream of the hammer. It is just a guess that this is what happened. It just seemed like a coincidence that this happened the night I added the hammer in close proximity to the torch. I will try to post pictures when I get home tonight.

Ok. I have some pretty bad pics from my phone. Have a dslr, but this will have to work for now.

Before sting(meltdown)

CFE175C2-97B5-4034-95D3-9A825DB8EFF8.jpg

After meltdown

E64B550C-D3A4-4488-913F-A335D6152111.jpg