Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Classroom Fluval Spec III Reef - New Full Tank Shot!

hinnenkm

Hello Everyone!

I am adding yet another Fluval to the list of pico aquariums that people have running. This is a fairly big change from the set up that I was running in my classroom last year, but I'm really excited about it. So before I get in to what I will be starting this year, let me tell you just a little about last year....

I have been teaching for a few years and last year I decided to set up a saltwater invertebrate tank in my 5th grade classroom - another excuse for a tank and it really tied in well with some of our big Science units. We had all sorts of inverts in there, from our sea urchin to sexy shrimp. Then about halfway through the year, we went on a field trip to the Minnesota Zoo and the kids saw a 180 gallon reef tank - they were amazed by the corals and the idea of a reef tank, so I started putting some of my smaller frags into our tank at school, but it was only running on Fluval LEDs, so the lighting wasn't super great for a lot of coral growth.

Then close to the end of this past school year, the Minneapolis Retired Teachers Association sent out an email along with a grant application asking teachers to submit ideas from practical to fanciful. Seeing that I had a classroom tank and how involved the kids were with it, I started to think that I should apply for the grant and upgrade the lighting in order to house more invertebrates and truly grow corals well.