SaltCritters.com

Cerameco VidaRock Observation & Question

broodc2

So my tank is now almost a year old. I'm struggling with GHA currently but it isn't your normal breakout. I've been fighting this for about 2 months now. The interesting thing is, the GHA only grows on my Vida Rock pieces and my live rock is completely clean and has coralline encrusting. I can't figure it out. Cerameco claims that the rock does not leach phosphates so I'm wondering what is causing this phenomenon. I test phosphates with Hanna checker and get a reading of zero. Nitrates are at around 1.5. I do regular 20% weekly water changes. I use RO/DI. I don't have a silicate test so that is the only thing I'm not 100% of. But I haven't had any sign of diatoms for about 6 months.

For the life of me I can't figure out why the GHA is only growing on their rocks, but not on my live rock. I suppose if I was overfeeding/under skimming, etc. the GHA would be growing everywhere correct? Does anyone else have an experience similar to me? Here are the things I've eliminated as causes:

• I observe my CUC and they don't show a particular preference to the live rock versus the vida rock. I've tried manually placing hermits, snails, even my fighting conch on both live rock pieces and vida rock and don't notice them scurrying off one or the other or otherwise giving preference to one rock over the other
  • If you break my tank into 6 sectors (i.e. top left, top center, top right, bottom right, bottom center, bottom left) I have both vida rock and live rock in all 6 sectors so I have to think flow and/or lighting isn't the cause.