Coral Vue Hydros

First reef tank - Fluval Spec V

spaceheater

spaceheater

Hello everyone,

I'm in the process of starting my first reef tank. I have been keeping freshwater fish for a bit but wanted to branch out and have always drooled all over my keyboard looking at pictures of nano reefs. I'm currently a graduate student, so space limited. I already have a planted Spec, so wanted to do the reef in a matching tank. I figured it would create an interesting dichotomy and the two look awesome back to back IMHO.

Anyway, here's what I've got so far:

Fluval Spec V (duh)

stock light

stock pump

AC 30 for refugium

Deep Blue 30W heater

5 lbs. live sand

~5 lbs fossil coral

The AC30 I got was obviously a return and was cracked and missing pieces, so I'll have to exchange that in the next couple of days. Also, I'm planning on getting about 5 lbs of smaller live rock pieces to build up the tank and add to the refugium in the next couple days.

Questions (you knew they were coming...)

1) Right now I have the stock carbon and bio inserts in the filter sponge. In my FW I cut the center divider out and filled the entire thing with bio media. Should I do this for the reef tank as well?

2) Am I right to assume that the sand/refugium/liverock will need to be fed with ammonia after cycling and before adding livestock? It'll probably be a couple weeks before I upgrade the lights and start adding corals.

3) How do you like the current layout? I tried several and this was by far my favorite, but if you've got some suggestions I'd really like to hear them before I fill it.

4) Can I use my FW test kit on this tank? I'm specifically thinking of the ammonia test.