Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Mr Aqua 17.1 R.I.P.

aviator300

aviator300

Mr Aqua material starts on 9th post, Pg 2.

You've probably read some of my posts or replies over the last 5 months but I have yet to do a real live build thread until now.

I started in to this hobby right after Christmas 2013 and read and researched tons and tons of info on Reef-keeping (particularly nano size) before starting.

I was a police officer for years as my career but my hobby and first love (which turned into a very expensive obsession) was flying the advanced level sequence in my Extra 300 unlimited class aerobatic aircraft. Some years ago, while competing in a IAC competition in Prague Czech Republic, I roomed wirth a fellow pilot from there who kept a 180gal reef tank in his home. I spent hours just staring at it and right then, I was hooked. It only took me 19 years to finally begin the hobby.

I started with an Eheim 6gal tank which lasted about 1 month before a falling light fixture landed on and cracked the tank. Enter a JBJ Picotope as my second attempt which cycled with live rock and sand and supported misc coral for about 3 1/2 months. I then noticed bubble algae, grn hair algae, Bryopsis and aptasia popping up everywhere. It didn't happen overnight but just crept up on me. I fought low PH, high Nitrates and Phosphates. I also never set up a quarantine tank (big mistake and one i wont repeat).

Well, I decided to do a ton more research and set up and cycle a legitimate QT. I put all my healthy coral and livestock in there and decided to follow the old quote "THIRD TIMES A CHARM"

I was in Petco and saw a sign advertising a "dollar per gallon sale". So i gave up the idea of spending big bucks on a new, sleek, and larger tank and bought a standard AGA 10gal tank for 10$ . I did decide to use more dollars to purchase some quality new equipment to use on this or any other tank that comes my way in the future.