ReefCleaners.org

The 40B Caribbean gorgonian forest!

zooman72

I have been keeping gorgonians for several years, progressing from a 20H to a 29g, and recently decided that the 29g looked crowded, plus it was a relative pain to service compared to my 40B BTA aquarium I set up last year. So, with a juicy tax return in hand, I decided to upgrade the 29g Caribbean tank to a 40B.

It started with a new stand from Joe's Woodworks in Buffalo, NY (same stand as I used for the other 40B), but this time I was using LEDs right from the start (of course), and I was able to score a relatively new pair of 27"/ 16K Maxspect Razors for not much more than the cost of a single new one - one for this tank, and one for the other 40B.

I was able to use the sump and all other equipment from the 29g, except I was going to give one of the Jebao WP10's a try instead of using the 4 Koralia's I was using for the flow in the 29g. Turns out I needed just a bit more flow than the single WP10, so I added an older Koralia 1 with the added directional nozzle so that it wouldn't kick up too much sand with it near the bottom. All fish and gorgs from the 29g were moving into the 40B, with the exception of pest anthelia I was scrubbing off the live rock before making the new rock stacks. I also planned to add a few more gorgs from KP Aquatics, as well as a trio of chalk bass. Tank transfer started 3/18/14, and took about 6 hours for everything.

Equipment list:

• Aqueon standard 40B aquarium with custom-cut glass top
  • Aqueon standard 20L used as sump, with 1/8" glass baffles (sanded edges) at 8" and 7.5" height
  • Custom stand finished in black gloss from Joe's Woodwork in Buffalo, NY
  • Maxspect Razor - 27", 16000K, maxing out at 75% channel A, 65% channel B, hung 12" above tank rim
  • Bubble Magus Curve 5 skimmer
  • CPR 4" Sock-It filter sock holder with 8" long 200 micron socks
  • Rio Hyperflow 6HF return pump
  • Eshopps Nano Overflow