Coral Vue Hydros

What Can I Do About this Algae?

nemonlizzy

So I've posted about this algae in the ID forum and have not gotten, really, any help. I figured maybe posting it here, as I am new to this life, I might receive some more information.

I have been fighting it for months, it's killed some of my snails (I think, or I have really lazy, stupid snails) but it doesn't look AT ALL like dinoflagellates.

It has taken over the entire tank, I have starved the tank for a week at a time or more, and I have covered the tank (total black out) for 3 days. The stuff still lives. I really don't know what to do at this point other than trash the tank. Someone has mentioned diatoms but it doesn't grow on my sand, ONLY on the rock facing the light. There are small brown spots all over the rock and on top of these brown splotches are very clear fuzzies. Not even my emerald crabs can pick the brown splotches off the rock.

You might try taking out most of the water and directly spraying the algae on the rock with peroxide and re-fill after 5 minutes with the water you removed. It's pretty good at taking out most algaes.

A black out for 3 days may not be enough.

I will say that the black-out technique does work, at least for me. It wasn't an algae problem I had, but I did have lights out over my live rock for 7 or 8 days, (Key Largo dryrock), and it is blast white again. The tank has been online for a few weeks again now with no occupants, I have not even had to clean the glass, so I can attest to nutrient retention in the system feeds the algae.

How old is the tank?

I would not rely on a cleanup crew to rid you of an algae problem, it seems to be hit or miss, mostly miss on a immature tank. It seems to be adding bio-load to a bio-load problem. In a mature tank?, sure I could see a couple snails puttering away, helping to maintain things visually.

I have something similar on two frag discs, seems to be tough stuff.