Innovative Marine Aquariums

New 16 gallon bow front Cycling process

Paul3x16

Hello, Im new at this, im just trying to figure out if everything that i have and doing is fine.. please your opinion will count.

so this is the set up

16 gallon bow front

8Lb Live rock

8LB base rock

20LB Live sand (CaribSea Arag-Alive Bahamas Oolite Aquarium Sand)

20gal Rena SmartFilter

50W heater

Hydor Koralia 240 wavemaker

54x HQ 0.2W LED (51x 10000K daylight, 3x 460nm Actinic) 1026 Lumen

Taam Rio Nano skimmer(this is on order)

Aquaclear Power head20

I used Tap water with conditioner to take all the chlorine out then mixed it with instant ocean sea salt, I started cycling friday 11, on monday the ammonia was 1.0 the salinity level is at 1.023 and temp at 79

Is the set up fine? am i missing something? here are some pics let me know what you guys think thank you

post-84328-0-79436000-1397750512_thumb.jpg
post-84328-0-82576700-1397750517_thumb.jpg

post-84328-0-82576700-1397750517_thumb.jpg

Welcome to Nano-Reef.com.

You should be using distilled water (if you don't plan on buying a RO/DI unit). Although a RO/DI system will ultimately save you money and convenience in the long run (even with a 16 gallon tank). You'll be using almost 3 gallons a week (1 for top offs and 2 for water changes). Plus you'll need one once you decide to upgrade. ;). I'd do a huge water change before adding any livestock.

Also, you'll want better test kits after the cycle has been established (as strip tests are not typically thought of as the most accurate). I wouldn't bother with getting a pH, or nitrite kit. You'll want a low range phosphate kit like Red Sea offers (API only offers a high range phosphate kit). Nitrate is another nutrient that you should watch.