Cultivated Reef

Otaku's Tank - My first saltwater tank

otaku521

Dear all

I am new here! Just wanted to say hi and please do give me some comments and advise! As it would really help me as I am quite new to Saltwater tanks...

Started with this 2 year old 24" x 12" x 14" fresh water tank:

i-Nmcvgxz-M.jpg

used the entire night throwing away plants, packing balance fishes for a friend... now becomes like this:

i-GVqxs8d-M.jpg

Rinsed and wiped clean... added about 1 bag of sand (rinsed with tap water) and 2 rocks (not rinsed - used to be live when brought, but I hold it in my car trunk the entire day - I think it is dead now @.@ )

cleaned out my eheim 2217 canister and washed all media and sponges with tap water. (starting new)

removed all bio rings, kept the eheim substratpro, filled the rest of the half empty canister with seachem matrix, and place a small bag of seachem purigen on the top blue sponge

(from bottom up: water inlet > blue sponge > substrate pro > blue sponge > seachem matrix > seachem purigen > blue sponge>water out)

Prep the water:

i-nNpPxj2-M.jpg

Fill the tank with salt water in my bucket with salt and mix by hand (yes everyone is now chewing me out) using my home drinking water filter (non-RODI) and measure with my reflectormeter till it reads 1.025 then finally add seachem prime for declorinfication

and slowly pour in the water till it is 75% full

hook up my canister to my cooler and in&outs to the tank along with a wave maker to make sure all the water moves and mixes well (yes beginner mistakes)

then turn on my canister:

i-wqv8cFk-M.jpg

Fill new salt water till it is full and install the new light: WaveRunner 4x45W light marine (blue and pink T5HO)

i-g2M47xf-M.jpg

kept this running for 2 weeks (adding some fish food for it to rot and ammonia build up)

and dose Seachem stablity (half bottom cap) everyday for 2 weeks

Lights turn on with time for 6 hours a day

Week 3:

First Change of water @ 30%