Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

I thought DIY was supposed to be cheaper :P

cocojakes

I'm working on a new 20 long peninsula build, and was planning on doing a DIY LED bar, with three clusters, each consisting of:
2x 3up

2x TV

1x OCW

but everything together is coming out to $500CAD, I could buy a pro fixture like a radion or hydra for close to that. Am I missing something? I'm tempted to pull the trigger anyway just because it will do a slightly better job covering the 20x12 footprint than most pre fab puck style, but at the same time, I have no clue how the colour will end up, if I'll be upset that I ditched my kessil if I end up with disco effect again, or if I'll mess up something and ruin the whole fixture. I'm decently confident in my electronic skills as I'm an engineering student who has played with soldering irons plenty, but still don't want to burn up 500 dollars when I accidentally connect an LED backwards.

Any advice and help is greatly appreciated. I want this tank to be the sexiest thing I own, but so far I've burned through tanks faster than anyone I know (have upgraded 4 times in the past year) I have a serious case of the I-can-do-better's and keep losing money as I sell old stuff and buy new stuff, and want to do this right and be happy with it.

PLEASE HELP :$

I like to DIY as much as the next guy, but you won't save anything buying these "kits" from a middle man, that is for sure.

Most all of our lights have at most a few dollars worth of LEDs if bought from the proper source.

LEDs are a dream come true for some business.

I like to DIY as much as the next guy, but you won't save anything buying these "kits" from a middle man, that is for sure.

Most all of our lights have at most a few dollars worth of LEDs if bought from the proper source.

LEDs are a dream come true for some business.