Cultivated Reef

North Ga Hillbilly's Bare Bottom 20G (Ramping up for an upgrade)

NorthGaHillbilly

NorthGaHillbilly

I kept Nano's for several years back 10 or so years ago, and was a relatively active member on here under the name Phergus_25, couldn't seem to get my log in info to work so I made this new account. All that aside, I graduated college, got out of dorms and apartments, and now have a house with my fiance, so it seemed like a fitting time to get a tank set back up. I grew up in the sticks, and the closest decent SW store was ~2 hours away, now that I'm living in the burbs of Atlanta I feel I have access to much better opportunities as far as reefing goes.

My Mom, the person who got me into all my aquarium interests, had kept ~30 pounds of LR going all this time for me. It was in a 20L with 6500K PC lighting with EXTREMELY minimal upkeep. We knew that there were some zoas on the rock, but their fate was yet to be discovered.

I dug through the filter pile, and the tank pile, and came up with a 24"x18"x12" oceanic tank I got years back when a LFS was going out of business. Threw an AC300 on the back, two power heads, heater... all that jazz. I have an order in for two of the Hydor Koralia Nano 425's to replace the current PH's as one is a cheap-o and the MJ1200 is annoyingly loud unfortunately.

I've done some reading to try and catch up on changes in equipment, and it seems that LED's have taken over the scene. I already have an Aqua Medic 150 HQI pendant tho and don't see jumping on LED's in the near future. I ordered a new Phoenix 14K bulb as I had success with them in the past.I was pleased to see that they seem to have gone down in price over the years.