Pod Your Reef

How can I DIY an LED solution to replace 150W Metal Halide

enigmatic

Hi,

I'm completely new to LED so please excuse my newbie question.

I'm currently running a light fixture over my 5ft planted aquarium that includes 2x 150W Metal Halide lights.

I'd like to remove using the MH lights so started looking at alternatives and this has brought me to LED and a DIY solution. I found www.ledgroupbuy.com and I'm here to get help and advice on what I'd need to buy to replace each MH light.

Can someone please give me pointers to what parts I'd need to buy? I'll likely continue to run the 2x 54W T5 planted tubes as well at this point so I'm interested in building something to just replace the MH and augment to light in the tank at a much lower cost than running the existing setup.

For reference, the tank is 5x2x2 and I have about 50cm of water from the top of the tank to the substrate. The tank is heavily planted, running CO2 and EI dosing.

IMG_1409.jpg

I'm in Australia so will need a power supply that can be used over here.

Thanks in advance.

Chris

jedimasterben

If you're looking for drop-in replacements for the halides, you could use two of the 'plants' version of the Lumia 5.1. They will have more output than the 150w halides, so you may need to up your dosing and such, or run the Lumias with less input current (say, dim them to 400-500mA from 700mA).

If you do individual LEDs, then you can space them out across the heatsink and tank, and you wouldn't need the T5 bulbs at all, further reducing your power consumption and bulb costs :)

Individual LEDs, for high light, you'd need around 60x LEDs, half warm and half cool white, using 60 degree lenses and hanging 8" above your tank will get you at least 80 PAR at the bottom of your tank.

All of the LEDgroupbuy power supplies and Inventronics drivers are universal input voltage, so you can run them no problem.