Top Shelf Aquatics

Help with my white sebae anemone please!

Itsmaddie88

I got this white sebae anemone yesterday from my local fish store. I have been doing some research on how to best take care of it. This is my first attempt at having an anemone. I can't tell if mine is healthy or not or if it is in a good location in my tank. It's tentacles are pretty short and I'm unsure if that is a bad sign or not. The sebae is an off white color and seems to have attached its self to the first rock I have put it on. Any advice? I attached a picture of the sebae so you can see if it looks to be alright.also will my clown fish host this kind if anemone?

I have a 40 tank 35 pounds of fiji rock with 5 hermit crabs, 5 bumble bee snails ,1 camel shrimp, 1 six line wrass, 1 green chromis, 1 flame angel, 1 blue tang(approx. 2 1/2 inch.), banned goby, and 2 clowns. Water temp is 83 because I was trying to get rid of the ich my blue tang had it has been gone now for 4 weeks so I'm slowly lowering the temp right now to 75

post-83552-0-75631100-1392632002_thumb.jpg

Its bleached, it should be a shade of brown or gray. This means its expelled its symbiotic algae it uses for photosynthesis and getting energy. This usually happens in ahipping with this species. I recommend feeding it mysis or krill every 3 days or so until it gets its color back.

Your temperature at 75 is kind of low but within range this species is found. I stay at 80 in my anemone tanks. I know you are ridding things of ich but be careful.

This anemone will want to be down low either in the sand or anchored to a rock at the sand rock interface. I don't recommend moving it yourself but it will probably end up there. Or move that whole rock to the sand.

Also the tentacles being short is fine but they will eventually be long when it gets larger.

Some clownfish will reside in it. I had A. Occ host one before.