Cultivated Reef

Fluval Spec V Build RETIRED

2004jeeplaredo

2004jeeplaredo

Heres some pics of my Fluval Spec V reef. I had it up and running for a few months now. Its my first attempt at a saltwater reef tank. Freshwater got boring and i wanted a project so i started this and wanted to get frags in it and watch it fill out as a colorful reef tank. Please let me know what ya guys think.

Equipment

Fluval Spec V

Minijet 606

Aqueon Heater

Tunze Nano ATO

Aquamana 165W Full Spectrum LED

DIY rear filter holder for filter floss and Algea

Timer power strip for lights and fuge light

Stock

YWG and Candy Cane Pistol Pair

Neon Dotty Back (Dexter)

8lb live sand

7+ lb live rock

Pink and Green Damicornus

Montipora Digitata Blue Polyp

Tri Color Acro

Pinck milliepora

Green millipora

Duncan Coral

Misc Yuma

Misc Acan

10+ types of Zoanthid

Purple People Eater

Frogspawn

Green Torch Coral

Indo Gold Torch

GSP

Tube Anenome

Yellow Polyp

Misc hermit crabs and snails

Fighting Conch

So far so good, Just going slow due to budget

Latest FTS

11/08/2015

_DSC4882.jpg

Its almost a 2 years old!

• Replies 112
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can you offer a little more info about your filter chamber? What did you make it with and is it just algae and filter floss? It looks empty of water in your pic how low do you keep water in there?

2004jeeplaredo

Can you offer a little more info about your filter chamber? What did you make it with and is it just algae and filter floss? It looks empty of water in your pic how low do you keep water in there?

Just used egg crate and made a cube that fit inside the back. I have floss on the top of the cube just below the ato sensor and algae inside the cube with a bag of purigen and that it. The water level is about a 1/4 in to 1/2 in lower in the chamber to help with surface skimming.

Heres a pic kinda seeing into the back chamber.post-82813-0-72185400-1392500976_thumb.jpg

2004jeeplaredo