Top Shelf Aquatics

Hi, my name is Salty

SaltySaltyDog

SaltySaltyDog

I am a college student.

Here is my experimental, relatively low budget tank. Almost 2 months old now, in what I believe is the final stretch of a mild diatom bloom.

Fully cycled for 3 weeks, weekly water changes (typically more often) using pre-mixed RODI saltwater, manual RODI freshwater topoff, and vigilant (borderline obsessive) monitoring. Thread for documentation and your viewing pleasure/constructive criticisms.
Help me be a better reefer. :naughtydance:

This is essentially a rough draft tank I want to run for the next 6 months until my current lease is up.

If I can sustain a variety of life in a small tank for a reasonable amount of time and learn an immense amount via obsessively reading, I will upgrade everything to either a larger tank size, or start a new nano tank from scratch with the knowledge I acquire over the next 6 months.

Standard 20x12x10 10 gallon found in attic

1" Sand Bed

12lb Man-Made Live Rock

3lb Dry Rock (Not sure where this came from,

AC70 HOB Refugium, with 2" Miracle Mud, 1" Aragonite Live Sand

-(Chaeto and mixed pod culture on their way)

Attic found water pump I am using as a PH. (Koralia 240 on its way to replace this POS)

Curent USA Orbit Marine LED Lighting System ( REALLY neat, and has kept my corals alive and pretty this far)

Inhabitants:

Fish

1x Blue Green Chromis

3x Blue Legged Hermit

3x Red Legged Hermit (2 missing, the Blues are murderous. yes, I have plenty of shells laying around for them)

2x Nassarius Snail

1x Coral Banded Shrimp (****ing beast)

1x Emerald/Mithrax Crab

Frags

2 Unknown Zoas \

1 Unknown Mushroom | LFS not helpful, sells frags that they can only vaguely identify

1 Unknown Paly / and i'm too new at this to tell

1 Euphillia / Torch Coral

1 Pulsing Xenia

1 Green Star Polyp

1 Candy Cane

Average Water Parameters

Ammonia - 0 ppm

Nitrite - 0 ppm

Nitrate - 5-10 ppm ( working on dropping that via refugium/chaeto )