INVERTS

ceriths

EQUIPTMENT

Fluval 206

Hydor Koralia 425

PAR 38

other things that I will list later if I remember

------------------------------------------------------

My BiOrb arrived in the mail yesterday YAY! I am really excited to set this oversized fish bowl up but that will have to hold as I figure out how/what I plan on doing to this weird tank. I cant find crap online about how people have modded these things. Right now it's just hanging out until I set up a stand.

IMG_0950_zps567c590f.jpg

I know I want to get rid of the light, plug up the air hose and get rid of the under gravel filter (I hate those things)! So anyway my original thoughts were to just add a heater, power head, PAR38, live rock, macro, and softies. I really think I should have some carbon/filter floss in the mix though. A HOB is out of the question with the weird shape. And I have no experience with sumps, drilling, or weird DIY stuff. And I am terrified of breaking the tank. :blush:

Other ideas:

1) Underwater filter. Been looking at Fluval U Series (U2 model) What I don't like about it is I will have to find a way to hide it. I think I could hide it though. But I wonder how well it works. Dimensions: 3" x 3-1/2" x 8" high, 105GPH

2) Canister filter. I've never had one of these but I think I can just run some filter floss, carbon, (and maybe GFO ?) in the chambers. Not sure what to look for. But my thoughts are it wouldn't be too hard to clean since it is external. I'm thinking of having someone drill two holes in the top of the tank since I will not be filling it all the way to the top to run hoses and keep clutter down. Or better yet cut a box shape out of the top of the back to run ALL cords/tubes.