Innovative Marine Aquariums

75g rimless reef build

csund

This is my first try at diving into saltwater, after having successful Tanganyikan and Malawi tanks.

I purchased a 75g starfire rimless tank (36x24x20) from a local LFS (Oceans by Design, in Tukwila, WA.) They are also building me a custom stand and sump which should be done this week.

Equipment so far:

Apex controller with lab grade probe, salinity module/probe and WXM module

Speed wave DC 1320gph (Skeptical but read great reviews)

(2) Vortech MP10w (Hope they will flow enough)

Vertex omega 150 skimmer

(2) 300w Finnex deluxe titanium heaters

(1) Finnex deluxe digital controller (Apex will control one)

Tunze osmolator universal 3155 ATO

(2) Ecotech radion XR30W pro

Will hopefully get pics up later this week if stand and sump are completed.

cs

• 4 weeks later...

My tank, stand and sump were completed last week. I promptly picked them up and was overall pretty impressed with the workmanship. I got to work pulling the brace out of the stand so I could paint the interior white. My main goal was to make the inside water tight and for visibility.

Painting was a lot more work than I expected. I had to wait a minimum of 16 hours and block sand between each coat (3 coats primer, 5 coats top coat.) I am very happy, the finish is incredibly glossy!

tank_stand_zps224b6876.jpg

paint_supplies_zps94e28de4.jpg

pettit_zps45fc6c13.jpg

sump_skimmer_zps11d35ba8.jpg

tank_stand_sump_zps5d5530db.jpg

I also installed lights in the stand. I really wanted one of the controllable LED panel lights (1'x2') but couldn't justify spending $200 for cabinet lighting. I picked these up at home depot for pretty cheap and they installed very easily. They came with dimmable switch/power supply and light the stand up very well.

light_installation_zps4266cf1c.jpg

light_installation_2_zpsaa928622.jpg