ReefCleaners.org

PicO II Build (Brevotium Reef)

beprimeaux

Hey everybody, so this is my first time writing a build topic so any tips would be appreciated! Anyway, I recently upgraded to an Innovative Marine Nuvo 24, made a custom stand and everything, well less than a month later, I wake up at 3:00 AM to the sound of water splashing on my floors. So I was forced to put all my livestock from my Nuvo 24 to my Nuvo 16, with the MP10's in the same spots as the Nuvo 24, and it too cracked in the same spot. So once again, I had to move my livestock, this time to a BioCube 8. So after the first incident of the Nuvo 24 cracking, I went straight to PicOAquariums and ordered a PicO II after hearing great things about their aquariums.

Frustrated, I contacted Innovative Marine and told them what happened. Stephen, Head of Sales and Marketing was extremely nice and responsive, sent me out a Nuvo 24 and a Nuvo 16. However, I sold them both because I just lost all the confidence in setting up a Nuvo aquarium after two cracking and losing livestock.

I talked to my LFS and they said that all of their customers who had cracked Nuvo 24's had one thing in common: At least one MP10. I had two MP10w ES' on mine running Reef Crest mode at 40/50% power in anti-sync master/slave mode on both the Nuvo 24 and the Nuvo 16.

I'm currently replacing all of my floors so that should be done in a few weeks. My new carpet is finally installed and I even painted my room a light blue/green color to make me feel like I'm at the beach! :lol:

My reef will be named Brevotium Reef (Pronounced BREH VOTE EE UM). It's a pseudo word of the two Latin words "Brevis" and "Otium". Brevis means "small" and otium means "peace". My aquascape will be minimal and will resemble a bonsai tree.

Also, I was considering black sand for this aquarium, does anybody know of any cons to using black sand? Maybe even some pros?

Current Equipment:

• (2) MP10w ES'
  • Tunze Nano Osmolator
  • AquaIllumination Nano