Cultivated Reef

My T5/LED hybrid light

metrokat

Since lighting is always a hot topic, I wanted to give you more info on my custom retrofit light which was done by Nano-Box.
I'm a huge believer in T5's. My Red Sea Max came with PC/T5s which were powerful enough to grow this nasuta:
20130417_162547.jpg
I wanted true T5s knowing the colors and growth that is possible under them by observing so many tanks. I began researching how to retrofit true T5s into my RSM hood. Anybody following my tank thread knows that I am not a fan of the open top look, I like to keep a lid on the tank, it looks pleasing to me. But I soon learnt that there was no way I could comfortably retrofit T5s into the hood. For one there was nobody willing to do it for me, and I have no knowledge of electric mumbo jumbo. I would have most likely ended up frying my whole building.
I emailed Steve's LED's and they would only retrofit their RSM LED kit. I finally decided that I I had to get rid of the hood. JBB was awesome and sent me two units of 24W Aquatic life Dual T5-HO lights. I strapped them together and this tank was on T5s! The fixtures left a lot of room and could fit another module. So I thought I would strap 3 together to have 6 bulbs on the tank. Then the idea of the hybrid came to me.
Now a T5/LED hybrid light has been a dream light for me. The most common hybrids out there were MH with T5s or MH with LED's. When Decoz had Dave Fason build a custom T5/LED light, I nearly fell off my chair. YES! It was possible!
My first step was to contact Aquatic Life. They sent me an empty housing for the dual T5 fixture they sell and which I was already using. I communicated with Benny and Evil many times and then I sent a PM to Dave Fason.
Dave said Yes! omgomgomg
ReefBuilders first reported the ATI LED/T5 hybrid light (http://reefbuilders.com/2012/05/30/ati-led-powermodul-hybrid-light/), a sleek looking fixture at a steep price (~$1,100 for the same kind of I had built). My custom built light has