ReefCleaners.org

Jack's 20gT Overkill SPS Sytem

jservedio

Edit 2020 - Anyone reading this, thinking my setup was a good idea should read my final post and look at the new thread I created for this tank after fixing my stupid mistakes: 

Hello all - my name is Jack and I am new to the nano-reef forum. I have been a member of my local forums CarolinaReefers and CarolinaFishTalk for a very long time, but never really got into the national forums.

I've been keeping aquariums since I was a young child and recently got into reefing about a year ago. I dove in head first and never looked back. After 4 months of an LPS dominated tank, I got my first acro and fell in love. Since then I've spent countless dollars converting my system to be the best it can possibly be for SPS corals and grown my collection of acros quite a bit.

Here is a quick overview of my system before I dive right into pics (the only reason you came here...):

My DT is a 20g Tall Aqueon special that I used from my FW days that I am using a HOB overflow on with a 10g aqueon sump. I run Radion Pro LEDs 14" over the tank @ 20kK and an MP10 for flow (with a dual return).Below the tank down in the sump, which is guarded by a filter sock, I am running a Bubble Magus NAC 3.5+ skimmer and a BRS Deluxe reactor on an MJ1200 for GFO. This drains into a DIY reactor I made for GAC. To keep my salinity in line I have an Avast Marine ATO and to keep my Alk, Ca, and Mg in line I have a 3 pump Bubble Magus doser. To keep track of salinity and pH I have pinpoint monitors. I am sure I am missing some things (my sump is super packed), but you can see them in the sump pictures.

For livestock I keep 2x Percula Clowns, 1x Green Mandarin, 2 blue leg hermits, 4 ceriths, 2 astrea, 2 nassarius, and 1 pep shrimp (which may be butter fried soon for eating my happy linckia...)