inTank Media Baskets

MR.FEESH’s Biological Filtration NC6

MR.FEESH

Welcome to the thread dedicated to the progression of my naturally/biologically filtered, DIY full spectrum LED 6 gallon Nano Cube. Please subscribe, comment, and ask questions!

Tank Started: July 23rd, 2013

Front Tank Shot (FTS): 10/01/2013

rkcDECO.jpg

The Goal:

The goal here is very simple. I'd like to limit the tank to a relatively small bioload, but still go for a good deal of biodiversity, personality, and color. Almost every planned inhabitant benefits from the addition of zooplankton and/or phytoplankton. It is for this reason that the set-up will not contain filter floss, carbon, a skimmer, UV sterilizer, or any other filtration system that risks trapping or killing these essential organisms. Without them in the water column, the inhabitants will starve. Biological or natural filtration will be the only filtration mechanism used. I’m by no means an expert, but given that I’m not exactly new to the hobby anymore, I'd also like to challenge myself with some more unique inhabitants than what you see in the run of the mill tanks on this site-- inhabitants with special needs. Gorgonians, and sponges for instance. Of course there's nothing wrong with Clownfish and Firefish and anemones, but I think there are already enough of those to go around :)

Inspiration:

Dapellegrini's 2008 TOTM tank was a big source of inspiration for my tank. Not only was the aquascape very natural looking and aesthetically pleasing, but there was so much diverse life squeezed into such a small space. Natural filtration, hard work, and patience really seems to have paid off in that case, and I hope my tank will one day be even a fraction as impressive as that 5.5 gallon was.

fulltankshot.jpg

Equipment:

-Tank: 6 gallon JBJ Nano Cube

-Lighting: DIY full spectrum 9 LED retrofit array

(4) Royal Blue: 450-465 nm

(2) Neutral White: 3,700-5,000K

(1) Blue: 465-485 nm

(1) Deep Red: 660 nm

(1) "UV": 410-420 nm